International Collaboration

Mutual cooperation agreements between universities and the world’s leading accelerator centers have been signed within the framework of TAC (2006-2015) and TARLA (2016-) Project, which is carried out under the coordination of the Ankara University with the support of the Ministry of Development. In addition, in 2009, the International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC) and International Machine Advisory Committee (IMAC) were established under the project.
Ankara University – Deutsche Elektronen SYnchrotron (DESY) 
DESY, Deutsche Elektronen SYnchrotron,
Notke Str. 85, Hamburg, Germany
Agreement Date: 17.06.1996
Deutsches  Electronen Synchrotron (DESY) is a member of the Helmholtz Union and one of the world’s leading accelerator centers. It has two centers in Hamburg and Zeuthen (Berlin). It is the largest national research center in Germany. The cooperation agreement is extended by five-year periods.
Ankara University – Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden – Rossendorf (HZDR)   
Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR),
Bautzner Landstraße 400, 01328 Dresden, Germany
First Agreement Date: 2007
Second Agreement Date: 2010
Forschungzentrum Dresden (FZD) is located in 17 km east of Dresden. It is one of leading national research centers in Germany. Studies in the center carried out by 6 institutes.
– Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research
– Institute of Radiopharmacy
– Radiation Sources Institüte, ELBE
– Institute of Safety Research
– Institute of Radiochemistry
– Dresden High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Ankara University –  Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin (HZB)- BESSY    
Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin (HZB)
BESSY (Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellscaft für Synschrotronstarhlung)
Albert-Einstein-Str. 15 12489 Berlin, Germany
Agreement Date: 2007
BESSY, The Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung, is a research center jointly established by DESY (Hamburg), Forschungzentrum Julich (FJZ), Forschugzentrum Kalsruhe (FZK), Hahn-Meitner Institut Berlin (HMI) and Max Planck Institute (MPI) in 1979. That 5 ‘partnership established and operated BESSY-I in Berlin and the established BESSY-II in Berlin-Adlershoft in 1998. 
Ankara University – CERN (Switzerland) Agreements:
CERN, The European Organization for Nuclear Research,
Geneva, Switzerland
Signed Protocols: 1997 (ATLAS Membership) – 2005 (CLIC Membership )
CERN is the world’s largest accelerator center jointly established by 12 European countries in 1954. It has 21 members. Our country signed associated membership agreement in 12.05.2013. Ankara University has been member of LHC-ATLAS experiment since 1997. Ankara University has been joined CERN-CLIC Project in 2004 by the support of Turkish Atomic Energy Authority and in this scope it signed cooperation agreement in 2005 for educate accelerator physicists, mutual exchange of information, researchers etc. and renewed the agreement in 2013.
Ankara University – Cockcroft Institute (CI) (England)
Cockcroft Institute, UK,
Agreement Date: May 2011
Ankara University – IHEP (China)
International High Energy Physics Institute,
Agreement Date: December 2011
Ankara University – EuroXFEL (Germany) 
European X-Ray Free Electron Laser Facility, 
Agreement date: May 2012
European XFEL is the world’s most powerful radiation source (FEL) jointly established by 13 European countries under the coordination of DESY. It’s  Tesisi 13 Avrupa ülkesinin DESY hızlandırıcı merkezinin koordinasyonunda Hamburg’ta kurduğu ve dünyanın en güçlü ışınım kaynağı (FEL) tesisidir. Scientific research is scheduled to start in 2017.
Ankara University – ESS (Sweden) 
European Spallation Source Facility,
Agreement date:
 September 2013
Ankara University – INFN-LNS (Italy) 
Instituto Nazionale di Fizica Nucleare (INFN) Laboratori Nazionali del Sud (LNS)
Agreement date: September 2014
International Advisory Commitees
The International Technical (Machine) Advisory Committee (IMAC), which is established with the approval of the Rectorate in line with the proposal of the project management board within the scope of the TARLA project being carried out, consists of expert scientists.

TARLA Project International Machine Advisory Committee (IMAC)

Prof. Dr. John DELAYEN Jefferson Ulusal Hızlandırıcı Lab. (JLab), USA
Prof. Dr. Hideaki OHGAKI Kyoto University, JAPAN
Dr. Peter MICHEL (Head) Forschungzentrum Dresden (FZDR), GERMANY
Prof. Dr. Susan Smith ASTeC, UNITED KINGDOM
Dr. Ernst WEIHRETER Helmholz Zentrum Berlin (HZB)-BESSY, GERMANY
The International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC), established by the Rectorate’s approval in line with the proposal of the project management board within the scope of the Turkish Accelerator Center Project carried out between 2006-2015, is composed of expert scientists.

Turkish Accelerator Center Project International Science Advisory Committee (ISAC)

Prof. Dr. Ercan ALP (Başkan) Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Prof. Dr. Behçet ALPAT INFN Perugia, ITALY
Prof. Dr. David M. ASNER Carleton University, CANADA
Prof. Dr. Swapan CHATTOPADHYAY Cockroft Institute, UK
Prof. Dr. Yaşar ÖNEL Univ. of Iowa, USA
Prof. Dr. Luigi PALUMBO INFN Frascati, ITALY
Prof. Dr. Ken PEACH Oxford University, ENGLAND
Prof. Dr. Zehra SAYERS Sabancı University, TURKEY
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Gökhan UNEL CERN, SWITZERLAND
Prof. Dr. Helmut WIEDEMANN Stanford University, USA